a good name

I asked someone close to me what they believed in thinking they would respond with the typical, ‘I believe in God and heaven or I’m not sure, I have a lot of questions’ answer that I usually get. Instead, the answer I got was, ‘I believe in a good name.’

He then went on to recite Proverbs 22:1 which says, “A good name is more desirable than great riches, and high esteem, than gold and silver.”

I had never read that verse let alone hear someone use it with such eloquence. To treat others with kindness and respect and to gain a reputation of trust and loyalty is something many people give up for earthly riches. The man who spoke these words to me was not only wise but someone I, myself, hold in high regards. Someone who is kind and respectful, someone who I can trust and someone who is loyal.

Today, let us take this scripture into serious consideration. No matter what you believe in. Whether you believe in eternal life, whether you have questions or whether you believe in science. Be kind today. Lower yourself for others today. Gain someone’s trust and be loyal today.

Happy Birthday Nile.

Leave a Reply

