while we are here

Yesterday was a good day. I laughed more than I have in a very long time. I sat around a table at a dining hall on campus surrounded by people who, even though I have only known for a few days, caused me to laugh so hard that my abs began to hurt and the vain in my forehead probably started to show.

The past week has been hard. I moved out of my beloved Iowa, packed all of my things into a very small room that I get to share with a roommate, my family left me, I am always hungry (probably because this whole ‘walk everywhere’ thing is new to me), I have to find things on my own, I have had to build relationships from scratch – the list could go on. To be short, I am a very lost college freshman. Yet in the midst of all of this craziness, I found myself enjoying life.

That is what I think living is about. Enjoying.

Take everything going on around you and let it soak in. While you still can, take all of the crazy and embrace it. Allow it to make you a stronger, more adaptable, unique and beautiful being. Become someone who can enjoy the good and the bad, who sees that struggle can be one of God’s greatest gifts because struggle molds us into warriors.

Read this and use it to your advantage today. Soak in all of the crazy and at the end of the day let yourself laugh so hard you have to wipe tears from your eyes.

That is all for today.

“Don’t exist. Live.”

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Marylu says:

    You are on your way! Believe it or not, it’s a great start – and for you to realize the lessons of the moment already – you are amazing! Keep enjoying!

    Like

  2. Curt Vajgrt says:

    Never a Goodbye, rather, I’ll see you soon! All my Love, Dadda!

    Like

Leave a Reply

