I guess I’m working out again…

I have recently decided that I miss my swimmer body and man arms very much. So much so that last night I made a daily workout plan which started this morning at 7:00.

What I have realized since I have been in college is that it is hard to work out alone. No one there holding you accountable or pushing you when you decide it is time to go home and be done for the day. I have taken the easy way out the past two months – I’ve just done nothing. And the times where I did find the urge to go on an impulse run, they were short-lived and I was home with in 15 minutes.

I have found that faith goes the same way. It is hard to live out your faith alone. No one there holding you accountable to make it to Mass every Sunday or pushing you to spend time in the word and prayer everyday. Thought, what we get when we do nothing with our faith is far worse than five or ten pounds. A stale faith is a stale soul that does not know Jesus as a friend.

When I created my work out plan I decided that I would spend time in prayer every morning after I got back from the gym. I chose to open the most precious graduation gift I got. A daily devotional book called, “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young. Some of you may have heard of this book as it is becoming wildly popular across the Christian faith. Today a verse stood out to me.

Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.”

Focusing on the past, the present and not only tomorrow, but forever. Eternity. I was reminded that Jesus and His love does not change. It does not become stale. I have heard so many speakers focus their talks around the idea that it is never too late. And I always wondered when speakers had to start doing that –  focusing around the idea that you can be redeemed. See, we live in a world where sin becomes an expectation. We get so wrapped up in what’s popular by secular standards that we no longer even know that we are sinning.

But we should be reminded that what they say is true. God does forgive. He does redeem and He loves greater than we can possibly imagine because He does not change. He doesn’t altar just because society says that He does or says that certain things are now okay to do. They aren’t okay. Morals remain.

College is a crazy bubble. It is easy to become wrapped up in the simplicity of class and a social life but I yearn for something deeper. Not only a healthy body but a healthy soul. A relationship with Christ.

Psalms 19:15 “Let the words of my mouth and meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, Lord, my rock and my redeemer.”

Leave a Reply

