let go

I have sat at my computer for the past month unable to put into words the emotions that run rampant through my heart and mind. I have been frustrated and angry and I didn’t know if it was because I was unsure whether or not my diary (audience of about 1,000) deserved to hear from that side of me or if there were simply no words to describe those emotions.

And then it hit me that what I needed to write about wasn’t something that would help me feel better about the way my life was going, rather something that would help my dear readers pick themselves up off the unforgiving ground.

We don’t have forever. Daylight is wasted on moments and thoughts about the past that get us no where. While we hopelessly gaze upon our memories, they seem to disappear beyond the horizon. And although it is true that previous decisions are all we have to help guide future ones, there is a difference between learning from our mistakes and punishing ourselves for them.

Free yourself. Let the hurt of failure pass through you and let it leave you. Hang on no longer. Cleanse yourself of all that drags you down and makes you feel like all you can do is fail because that is anything but true. That thought is what drives hopelessness.

I am not going to sit here and tell you that leaving your past in the past is a vaccine for disappointment. You will more than likely still fail or break a heart, but you must build yourself beyond all the failures.

The man in black may have said it best.

“You build on failure. You use it as a stepping stone. Close the door on the past. You don’t try to forget the mistakes, but you don’t dwell on it. You don’t let it have any of your energy, or any of your time, or any of your space.” Johnny Cash

One Comment Add yours

  1. Dad says:

    I loved this piece! Now apply it in your life & I will in mine! I love you my 1st born!

    Like

Leave a Reply

