the mother in a woman

I was about 16 and understood nothing that came out of my mom’s mouth. It was all unreasonable and biased and unfair. She wouldn’t let me go to a bonfire with my boyfriend at the time and I yelled at her and had so much anger towards her for it. I don’t remember exactly what I said but I do remember standing on the steps of the stairs spewing hate. I got over her decision to keep me home but I never got over how I treated her that night.

If I could take back all of the hurt I caused her, my beloved mother, I would have taken it back a thousand and one times.

They’re funny things – moms. They know you better than you think they know you and very often, they know you better than you know yourself. They know what you need and they take the brunt of your emotions while you realize it.

I recently had a conversation with my mom that really altered my view on who my mother is. She listened to me cry and she told me I had to figure it out and she told me that I could do it on my own. Now you might read that sentence and think she was giving me a dose of tough love but it was the most caring statement I have ever heard.

You’re going to have to do this on your own.

In one of my weakest moments she reminded me of how strong I am. How strong she made me.

 

Mama –

Thank you for understanding my heart. Let’s take on the world.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Curt says:

    I love our Mamma! The tribute, of course, made me cry! My 1st born knocks it out again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

