have we forgotten

A while back, I wrote about the beauty of free speech. It is something that we, as Americans, take advantage of every day. And if you have read any of my posts, I have never shied away from the fact that my faith is very important to me. My views on life and on those around me, and really the entire human race as a whole, are guided by my morals and what I believe is the root of Christianity.

Love.

Christianity revolves around love. God sent His one and only Son to die. To die. For us. For each and every one of us, knowing that the majority of us would reject Him anyways. In my opinion, many of us reject Him because it seems unfathomable for us to wrap our minds around that kind of endless love. The Bible refers to it as “agape” love. Eternal and selfless.

Yet, history is full of Christians who are full of hate. Millions of Catholics and Protestants alike conquering peoples with violence, preaching nothing about love and only acting on hypocrisies.

Which is what I saw today.

The University of Missouri’s Speaker’s Circle is known as one of the few places on campus that the allows demonstrations of any kind, at any time of the day. And it’s a great place. Free food handed out by organizations daily and debates occur almost weekly. My previous post showed nothing but support for an expression of opposing views. I strongly believe that we become actual people by learning from others who challenge our beliefs and outlooks.

But today, I approached Speaker’s to find a huge crowd. I knew that a man had been preaching there earlier in the afternoon so I figured he had drawn a crowd of opinionated college students like most speakers do. I was right. He had drawn a crowd. And as I listened to what the man yelled at the crowd, I truly understood why much of society has turned its back on Christianity. I saw first hand the spew of hate this man was apparently professing as commands from the Bible and his supposed interpretation of God’s opinion of His creation.

I heard him call the women who were questioning him whores and sluts, condemning them to the flames of hell. And then one girl came forward, enraged, with every right to be, telling him that he was exactly why people hated Christians. That she was Christian herself and that she was disgusted by him.

Many would call this man a “radical Christian.” He was anything but that.

I looked up the definition of a radical Christian and clicking on UrbanDictionary, I half expected a definition slamming my faith. What I found instead was beautiful and true, and I want to attach the entire definition because I truly believe it’s worth reading.

“Real Radical Christians Love, Christ is in them and their very life, words and actions reflect the Love of Christ for people. They are the ones you can call in the middle of the night, and talk to. They will still Love you when no one else does. Why? Because they know Christ, and met and meet with Him everyday. Christ’s Love has captured their heart, they cannot help but Love. They cannot help but to help you, they cannot help but to take care of you, they cannot help but to bless you, they cannot help but to love you. It’s more than’ good ole Southern Hospitality’ too… It’s real.

They don’t throw the bible in your face… They are like ‘little Jesuses’ on earth. They are shinning lights on a hill that cannot be hidden. They aren’t self-promoting, God promotes them involuntarily. God’s light shines through them, you never want to leave their presence… You don’t want to leave the peace, hope, joy, and love that surround them. What they have is intoxicating, not toxic.

They are what Jesus was, but they will be straight forward with you as Christ was. They want others to know the complete awe inspiring Love they know. A love greater than the Love they have with their spouses and children, while those loves are still great to them. But a Love that has Radically changed their life, and they voluntarily accepted that Love at whatever the cost because it was the first real thing they have ever encountered in their whole life.”

There isn’t much else to say.

I guess my only hopes are that Christians will finally see this. That if you, reading this, are a Christian, or if you’re just anyone else, will someday know what a real radical Christian is. And that you strive to be one.

 

Leave a Reply

